Tomtom Android map or app changer solutions   

Postby HKRen » Tue Sep 03, 2013 9:01 am

ensc wrote:Thank you! The new version works flawlessly. It detected the location automatically, didn't need to select any folder. FYI the device is Nexus 4 with Android 4.3 (CyanogenMod 10.2). Thanks again!


Can you give more details on how you install the Tomtom maps and TT Map Changer? I am only a newbie! Thanks!
HKRen offline


Junior Member



 
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2010 11:12 am
Posts: 14
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Postby ensc » Tue Sep 03, 2013 11:15 am

HKRen wrote:Can you give more details on how you install the Tomtom maps and TT Map Changer? I am only a newbie! Thanks!

Sure. I assume you have a771la's APK installed, and the TomTom folder (/sdcard/tomtom/com.tomtom/files/*) set up. If not, you need to do these two things first.

Once you have the above, download the map(s) you want to use (note: some maps won't work with TomTom Android) and activate them. The activator will generate a *.meta.dct file from the *.meta and *.pna files inside the map folder. You also need the device ID, which is AABH8AACSW (for a771la's TT APK version 1.3b2).

Now put the *.meta.dct file inside the map folder, and put the map folder in the TomTom folder (/sdcard/tomtom/com.tomtom/files/). Delete the file /sdcard/tomtom/com.tomtom/files/currentmap.dat. Next time you start TomTom it will ask you which map to use.

Finally you can install TT Map Changer (1.4) and when you want to change the map, just run it. It will delete the above file and start TomTom (which will then ask you which map to use). If you don't want to change the map, just start TomTom the usual way.
ensc offline


Junior Member



 
Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2013 11:45 pm
Posts: 8
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Postby HKRen » Tue Sep 03, 2013 1:00 pm

ensc wrote:Sure. I assume you have a771la's APK installed, and the TomTom folder (/sdcard/tomtom/com.tomtom/files/*) set up. If not, you need to do these two things first.....................


Thanks very much for your advice. However can you explain a bit more on what is "a771la's APK"? Where to have this apk to download?
HKRen offline


Junior Member



 
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2010 11:12 am
Posts: 14
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Postby ensc » Tue Sep 03, 2013 1:42 pm

HKRen wrote:Thanks very much for your advice. However can you explain a bit more on what is "a771la's APK"? Where to have this apk to download?

It's a patched version of the TomTom app that removes the licence check, and allows using many maps, including those that were not made for Android, with some other changes. The last version I know of is here.

MOD EDIT: No links to other gps forums are allowed.
ensc offline


Junior Member



 
Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2013 11:45 pm
Posts: 8
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Postby Fatboyfun » Tue Sep 03, 2013 7:26 pm

Bump! Updated post #1 with Tomtom Mapchanger V1.4
Fatboyfun offline


User avatar Ex Moderator



 
Joined: Mon May 17, 2010 5:34 pm
Posts: 5782
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 403 times

Postby HKRen » Wed Sep 04, 2013 1:41 am

ensc wrote:It's a patched version of the TomTom app that removes the licence check, and allows using many maps, including those that were not made for Android..........


Thanks very much ensc, I shall have a try on it!
HKRen offline


Junior Member



 
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2010 11:12 am
Posts: 14
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Postby nixmit » Tue Oct 01, 2013 4:10 pm

On my device, a Samsung Galaxy Y, with Android 2.3.6. and few memory, MapChanger 1.3 and 1.4 get frozen. They delete 'currentmap.dat', try to start the right APK, but then stall. I have to stop it with taskmanager.
Afterwards, starting the Tomtom app works fine: a list of available maps is displayed and so on.

FYI versions 1.1 and 1.2 did their job without errors.
nixmit offline


Junior Member



 
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 8:42 am
Posts: 20
Location: Groningen, Netherlands
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 3 times
Age: 73

Postby Fatboyfun » Tue Oct 01, 2013 7:45 pm

Do you get any force close/activity not responding messages?
Fatboyfun offline


User avatar Ex Moderator



 
Joined: Mon May 17, 2010 5:34 pm
Posts: 5782
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 403 times

Postby nixmit » Fri Oct 04, 2013 11:28 am

No, it just gets frozen, after starting the APK and the GPS.
nixmit offline


Junior Member



 
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 8:42 am
Posts: 20
Location: Groningen, Netherlands
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 3 times
Age: 73

Postby Fatboyfun » Fri Oct 04, 2013 11:35 am

I will look into it...
Fatboyfun offline


User avatar Ex Moderator



 
Joined: Mon May 17, 2010 5:34 pm
Posts: 5782
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 403 times

Postby msty » Tue Dec 17, 2013 5:26 pm

Thank you fatboyfun for the map changer. It doesn't work when the maps are stored on an external SD card. So in my case, on an Asus tf700 tablet, it does not see the maps. Is there anything you could do about this? I don't want to overload the internal storage by moving maps over to it.

Thanks for all your work.
msty offline


Junior Member



 
Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 10:43 pm
Posts: 9
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Postby Fatboyfun » Tue Dec 17, 2013 6:29 pm

By default it looks on the internal memory, but you can change it...
Fatboyfun offline


User avatar Ex Moderator



 
Joined: Mon May 17, 2010 5:34 pm
Posts: 5782
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 403 times

Postby msty » Tue Dec 17, 2013 9:18 pm

Fatboyfun wrote:By default it looks on the internal memory, but you can change it...

I tried to do that, but only internal directories showed up in the list. I was not able to get it to switch to the micro SD.
msty offline


Junior Member



 
Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 10:43 pm
Posts: 9
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Postby Fatboyfun » Tue Dec 17, 2013 11:44 pm

From the default sdcard location you can go back to the parent folder, this is where you'll find other sd cards etc.
Fatboyfun offline


User avatar Ex Moderator



 
Joined: Mon May 17, 2010 5:34 pm
Posts: 5782
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 403 times

Postby msty » Wed Dec 18, 2013 12:02 am

When I select "Navigate to the folder where the com.tomtom folder is installed..." there is a check mark next to the parent directory /storage/emulated/0, and only internal storage locations show up. If I tap on the check mark, "Unsuitable folder!" pops up. There is no option to select the external SD card and its contents.
msty offline


Junior Member



 
Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 10:43 pm
Posts: 9
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

PreviousNext

Return to Android Apps

 


  • Related topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests