Step-by-Step: How to download images and create JNX files   

Step-by-Step: How to download images and create JNX files

Postby posti » Wed Jun 07, 2023 2:56 pm

After watching a zillion YouTube videos with no results, I worked out a way to select and download imagery with Global Mapper and convert it into .JNX files, so it can be uploaded into Garmin devices.

The version of Global Mapper I am using is 15.2.

This board requires you to be registered and logged-in to view hidden content.

I am new to this program and I managed to get results through trial and error, so it is a very basic tutorial and you may find other or easier ways to get the same or better results.

In “File” menu select “Download Online Imagery/Topo/Terrain Maps”.

A new menu opens, where you can choose the source of the imagery (in my case is “World Images”) and click “Connect”.

You will see a world map and you will want to select the area of the image you need with the “Zoom” tool.

To select the area to download select the “Create Area Feature” button. This will allow to draw a polygon in order to select the area of the download. Just set the pointer over the image and left click to draw the lines of the polygon.

Once you draw the last line of the polygon, without moving the pointer from the last point of the polygon, right click and a new window opens “Modify Feature Info”. Just set the name of the polygon and click “OK”. The window closes.

Move the cursor inside the polygon and double click. The same “Modify Feature Info” opens again. Click OK to close. You will notice that the polygon now has red and blue dots.

In “File” menu choose “Export / Export Raster / Image Format”.

Choose “Garmin Raster Maps [KMZ/JNX].

A window “Garmin Raster Export Options” opens.

Check “Advance (JNX Format)”. Go to “Product ID” and set it at: 1 – Birds Eye (Unknown). Set “Product Name” and “Map Name”.

Then check “Always Generate Square Pixels”