What TomTom model is that (Serial Number recognition)   

What TomTom model is that (Serial Number recognition)

Postby didziak » Wed Aug 21, 2019 6:28 pm

I bricked my elderly friend's TomTom (disconnected lead whilst updating voices, sic! - and that was it) so decided to do the right thing and buy him replacement off eBay.
Having encountered multiple VIAs, STARTS without owners being aware what models are they (and no models are displayed on their cases), I was forced to use TomTom sat-nav model recognition portal here: [Please Register or Login to download file] (based on S/No).
As I felt a bit adventurous over the last weekend, decided to copy all the prefixes to spreadsheet - with OS (software) and memory size given there.
I wished also for "updateable" / "non-updateable" column, so went with extra one for "Supported by TomTom? + Maps updateable?". As I am not an expert, I went with Home = updateable, Connect = non-updateable (if I was wrong, please correct the file) :)
Please see ready file attached
This board requires you to be registered and logged-in to view hidden content.
- I am its sole author so all mistakes and errors are solely mine, but if you find it useful, please share and use!
I hope this will start its own life and get regular updates from community - as a reference point to questions: "is model [so and so] updateable?"... but maybe it was worthless waste of time :)

(I would love to see "expiration dates" added to it, if anyone would know one in advance - to see how much of "lifetime maps" there is left on one model or another - but am doubtful if this is available knowledge).
didziak offline

Re: What TomTom model is that (Serial Number recognition)

Postby pe1agp » Thu Aug 22, 2019 4:56 am

Which TomTom did you demolish?
Was that via TomTom Home or Mydrive?
If it was via Home, I see no problem doing the update again, if necessary from a totally empty device.