Total Newb, and I screwed up my GO 730.....   

Total Newb, and I screwed up my GO 730.....

Postby Roxxor » Sat Apr 23, 2011 5:02 am

Well, I decided today that I wanted to try updating my GO 730, and like a complete idiot, I just jumped into the project without understanding what all it entailed. Suffice it to say, I'm now stuck with an "updated" GPS that won't go past the startup screen. And yes, again like an idiot, I did not make a backup before I started. Flame away for that one.

First let me start by saying that I had not updated or connected my GPS to a computer since I bought it. So my first mistake was that I tried to update the map to 865.3254 without updating my Navcore. Installed the new map, but along the way realized that I have North America 2GB and was trying to install North_America_P_865_3254.(still not sure if that makes a difference, maybe someone can enlighten me.) So I just copied the files over. Well my device started saying it was out of space, so I figured this was just due to the new larger map and deleted a few of the cspeech_XX.dat files from the North America 2GB folder, as I assumed they were related to the speech recognition and they were for states I would never visit. Well, this step ended in my device booting, but saying "No Maps Found".

So my next venture into reading was that I needed to update the Navcore. Downloaded 9.205, copied the files, copied the North_America_P_865_3254, patched it, and then the device was stuck in a reboot phase, it would show the old TomTom logo, show the loading data screen, show the New TomTom logo, then reboot and repeat. So I went reading again, and found that I had missed downloading the X_ttsystem.9.205.547817.1. So I downloaded that, copied the files. Patched again just to be sure. Now, the point I am presently at, is that the device will boot with the new TomTom logo, but just locks up and will not go past the boot screen.