Info for Mio Moov 560   

Info for Mio Moov 560

Postby Sly1980 » Wed Oct 02, 2013 11:24 am

Hi guys

I am new to this concept, most of it sounds like gibberish to me. Anyway, I have had a Moov 560 with Miomap 2008 installed since 2011. When I enquired about updates for this device, I was directed to their South African agent who said they would use software from the official C510/C310 4.2 inch devices with Handymap G12 using Navteq maps for a cost of almost as much as I paid for the device. With this came 2 years of free monthly updates though. Nevertheless, I never took the offer and continued using my Mio as it was. On my last trip though, the device seems to have failed me, it cannot pick up location. It was now that I though I need to unlock and use other maps (or at least try) before buying a new GPS. The problem is, I don't know what to do for this device and where to find anything for South Africa. Can somebody please help? I would like to backup my current software and then completely replace it with something newer if that is possible.
Lastly, does the Moov 560 have the worst touch screen or have I just been unlucky with this one? It's been poorly responsive since new and sometimes it will select a nearby letter instead on the one I'm pressing. Is there any way to change this?
Sly1980 offline

Postby Fatboyfun » Wed Oct 02, 2013 11:34 am

In the original software there might be an option to reset the gps, try that and see if you can get a lock.

Without a lock there's not much point in unlocking it.

Do you have that strange air filled screen protector like my M400 does?
Fatboyfun offline

User avatar Ex Moderator

Postby Sly1980 » Wed Oct 02, 2013 11:55 am

Hi Fatboyfun