Help activating speedcams warnings   

Help activating speedcams warnings

Postby Saltire » Tue Mar 10, 2015 1:49 pm

Hi folks. Bought a "Rage" Chinese GPS unit (128MB, 480x272 display) 'cos its waterproof so perfect for use on the motorbike, and had first test with it over the weekend in the car. With the useful tips and help on here I got iGO 8.3.5 up and running with UK map no problem, and unit works well so very happy with it (and the money saved not paying over the odds for one of the well known brand bike specific gps units!). I'm new to playing about with the iGO set-up and only thing I couldn't seem to get set-up correctly was speedcam warnings. No skins installed, and have a minimal sys.txt with only [rawdisplay] entry for resolution settings, plus the following lines that I thought would activate the speed cam warnings:

[warning]
speedcam_enabled=1
speedcam_warning=1

Downloaded a set of EU speedcam txt files and copied them into the content\speedcam folder. Deleted the save folder, restarted iGO and ran through the setup, and now had the option for speed cams in the program Settings > Warnings menu activated, so clicked to select and set the options up.

Only problem is I passed 2 speedcams but didn't get any visual or audio warnings via iGO, used my eyes anyway so spotted them but it will be very handy to have this working before touring in Europe on the bike later this year.

Any clues as to what I have done wrong or missed to get the speedcam warnings working? I guess it's possible that the speedcams I passed weren't in the database, but txt files appear to be from 2014, and one of the cameras has been there and operating for at least 10 years as I pass it nearly every day. Checked the speedcam folder and the database file seems to have been generated from the txt files ok, the speedcamupdates file looks empty (has a size of 0kB I think) but not sure if that's a problem or not.

Any help/ideas/suggestions most welcome, thanks.
Saltire offline