How to run TrakMaps Marine 9.0.0.gmap on mapsource.Help plea   

How to run TrakMaps Marine 9.0.0.gmap on mapsource.Help plea

Postby mitko1994 » Sun Jun 23, 2013 4:13 am

Hello Everyone,

it's my first post and I'm a complete noob at getting maps.In fact I don't have a garmin gps yet but I would like to preview some of the maps i can put on it before I buy one.I downloaded the TrakMaps Marine 9.0 and I tried to follow the tuts but I couldn't get my map to show on mapsource. I tried running map reverse converter and gmaptool and all these things but I don't which one is for what?So how can I view the maps on mapsource. It would be good if someone can explain what each program/tool is for,and better yet how to view the map.

Thanks
mitko1994 offline

Postby p!xeldealer » Sun Jun 23, 2013 8:58 am

You need no tool - simply copy the gmap folder into the right path! For Windows 7/8 it is
Code: Select all
C:\ProgramData\GARMIN\Maps
Note: C:\ProgramData is an hidden System folder.
If the folder is in right path, the map will be shown in all related programs: MapSource, BaseCamp, HomePort, MapInstall.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
The presentation of this posting exists of 100% of recycleable, taste-neutral, not genetic-
manipulated and unleaded pixels free of CFC - this guarantees for You p!xeldealer :yahoo:
p!xeldealer offline

User avatar Ex Moderator

Postby mitko1994 » Sun Jun 23, 2013 1:02 pm

I have windows xp and I don't see ProgramData as a hidden folder.I have these locations: C:\Garmin and also C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\GARMIN\Maps. In the second directory i have the gmap folder in the Maps folder but I don't have a mapsource.exe there.

I tried copying the mapsource.exe around a few times but still no effect.When I run mapsource under the maps section on the left, I have nothing showing there.
mitko1994 offline

Postby p!xeldealer » Sun Jun 23, 2013 4:47 pm