Facebook Twitter RSS Feed      

Garmin Topo France v6 Pro Entire Country + Territories   

Re: Garmin Topo France v6 Pro Entire Country + Territories

Postby mimichris » Sun Jul 04, 2021 1:26 pm

Hello,
When I modify the TYP with TYPviewer, the houses are distorted and are only drawn with a stroke that delimits their outlines only on the 65s, on BaseCamp no problem .. I assume that Typviewer is no longer suitable for the new Topo V6.
mimichris offline


Junior Member



 
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2012 5:35 pm
Posts: 77
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 28 times

Re: Garmin Topo France v6 Pro Entire Country + Territories

Postby Pierrot83300 » Mon Jul 05, 2021 7:58 am

Hello, I installed the 2 img files on my watch (fenix 6x), but unfortunately it does not recognize them. Can you help me please.
Pierrot83300 offline


Junior Member



 
Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2021 5:11 pm
Posts: 1
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Garmin Topo France v6 Pro Entire Country + Territories

Postby mimichris » Mon Jul 05, 2021 8:03 am

You have to patch the firmware of the GPS with FirmwarePatcher 3.80 to be able to read these maps, but I don't know how it works with a Fenix watch, it is not the same as on a GPS.
mimichris offline


Junior Member



 
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2012 5:35 pm
Posts: 77
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 28 times

Re: Garmin Topo France v6 Pro Entire Country + Territories

Postby chardobidoo » Mon Jul 05, 2021 10:23 am

Hi,
I have a problem displaying accented characters on this map.
Is there a setting to modify to find the accents on the characters.
chardobidoo offline


Junior Member



 
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2021 9:29 am
Posts: 6
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Garmin Topo France v6 Pro Entire Country + Territories

Postby ronand » Mon Jul 05, 2021 10:30 am

Did you patch the firmware or just modify the CP in the IMG?
ronand offline


Member



 
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2011 11:09 am
Posts: 126
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 136 times

Re: Garmin Topo France v6 Pro Entire Country + Territories

Postby chardobidoo » Mon Jul 05, 2021 10:31 am

Just modify the CP
chardobidoo offline


Junior Member



 
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2021 9:29 am
Posts: 6
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Garmin Topo France v6 Pro Entire Country + Territories

Postby mimichris » Mon Jul 05, 2021 10:32 am

The firmware must be patched otherwise the cards are not displayed.
mimichris offline


Junior Member



 
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2012 5:35 pm
Posts: 77
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 28 times

Re: Garmin Topo France v6 Pro Entire Country + Territories

Postby ronand » Mon Jul 05, 2021 10:33 am

Well that wont work properly. Its a unicode map and should be used as such. Patch the firmware on your device and it will work correctly.
ronand offline


Member



 
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2011 11:09 am
Posts: 126
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 136 times

Re: Garmin Topo France v6 Pro Entire Country + Territories

Postby chardobidoo » Mon Jul 05, 2021 2:19 pm

I have no problem with accents on letters with the France Topo V5 map.

I checked with GMapTool, it seems that the 2 maps are NT maps and not NTU.

Both maps have a Page Code of 1252.

I don't understand where the problem comes from.

An idea ?
chardobidoo offline


Junior Member



 
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2021 9:29 am
Posts: 6
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Garmin Topo France v6 Pro Entire Country + Territories

Postby ronand » Mon Jul 05, 2021 3:07 pm

They are Unicode whether you want to believe it or not. If you look with GMaptool you will see the UTF-8 format there:

05447589 GMP 4D000h 8244266
GMP: TRE RGN LBL NET NOD DEM
GMP: date 16.04.2021 15:48:31
map 1056432 (17130546)
PID 1, FID 9095, region 0,0
TRE: date 16.04.2021 15:48:31
priority 20, parameters 1 4 10 9
levels [17,18,19,20,21,22,23,24], zoom [87,6,5,4,3,2,1,0]
N: 46.655760, S: 46.413889, W: 4.543920, E: 4.992814
TOPO France v6 PRO
Copyright 1995-2021 by GARMIN Corporation.
CP 65001, UTF8

Changing the CP from 65001 to 1252 does not change the encoding - it only allows you to open the map. If you want to use the map properly then patch your device firmware. Its not difficult. On my patched Fenix 5 Plus and Oregon 700 the map displays correctly.
ronand offline


Member



 
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2011 11:09 am
Posts: 126
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 136 times

Re: Garmin Topo France v6 Pro Entire Country + Territories

Postby chardobidoo » Mon Jul 05, 2021 3:49 pm

I believe you and I thank you for this confirmation.
Indeed, from closer, the V5 is coded in Western European 2.
The difference must come from there, but I am not an expert.

I am not an expert in patching Garmin devices either.

I searched for a good tutorial to patch a Fenix 5X PLUS and an EDGE 830, but I didn't find one.

Maybe I didn't look hard enough.

Moderator Note
Find your HWID and search the Universal Firmware Patcher for Protected Garmin Devices thread
Fenix 5X PLUS
EDGE 830 HWID 3122 Not recognised by Patcher
chardobidoo offline


Junior Member



 
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2021 9:29 am
Posts: 6
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Garmin Topo France v6 Pro Entire Country + Territories

Postby mimichris » Mon Jul 05, 2021 4:15 pm

my 65s is patched but the accented characters do not display correctly.

In fact even on BaseCamp the accented characters do not display correctly so it does not come from the GPS.
mimichris offline


Junior Member



 
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2012 5:35 pm
Posts: 77
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 28 times

Re: Garmin Topo France v6 Pro Entire Country + Territories

Postby ronand » Mon Jul 05, 2021 6:33 pm

No problems in basecamp here:


[Please Register or Login to download file]

If you have messed about with the encoding of the IMG then of course it won't work - the CP must be left as 65001
ronand offline


Member



 
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2011 11:09 am
Posts: 126
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 136 times

Re: Garmin Topo France v6 Pro Entire Country + Territories

Postby mimichris » Tue Jul 06, 2021 6:20 am

In fact we set all the code pages to 1252 except the LBL which must remain at 65001 and in this way the accents are correct. I just did it and it's OK on BaseCamp and on the GPS.
mimichris offline


Junior Member



 
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2012 5:35 pm
Posts: 77
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 28 times

Re: Garmin Topo France v6 Pro Entire Country + Territories

Postby GarmanNuvi » Tue Jul 06, 2021 6:38 am

mimichris wrote:In fact we set all the code pages to 1252 except the LBL which must remain at 65001 and in this way the accents are correct. I just did it and it's OK on BaseCamp and on the GPS.

Basecamp does not require the CP to be changed to use the .img files
On a img Patched firmware device or Original firmware ?
Before you post, "The archive is corrupt or damaged"
Please make sure your archive software is up to date or just Use the latest [Please Register or Login to download file]
GarmanNuvi offline


User avatar Moderator



 
Joined: Tue May 16, 2017 5:19 am
Posts: 839
Location: On the move
Has thanked: 79 times
Been thanked: 1868 times

PreviousNext

Return to New Maps

 


  • Related topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], ILOVEGARMIN and 7 guests