Facebook Twitter RSS Feed      

MIO Spirit 685 feature unlock   

MIO Spirit 685 feature unlock

Postby PJ03029174 » Wed Aug 01, 2012 10:11 pm

HI

I have just bought a UK and Ireland Mio Spirit 685
I am charging it at the mo and have not booted it up or registered the device.
I believe the device is limited to the first 4 characters of the UK postcode which sucks.
I have downloaded the following software to try out tomorrow
http://www.navitotal.com/showthread.php?9345-SD-amp-Flash-Unlock-for-Mio-Spirit-with-SPIRIT-NAVMAN

Am i right in thinking this unlock will provide additional functionality to the device? also i've read that the unit comes with 22 Europe maps loaded, will this hack make these maps available? I can't find any info on what this unlock provides? or is it a shell and then i have to download maps etc to use with it?

Thanks for taking the time to read my questions

Pete
PJ03029174 offline


Junior Member



 
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 9:37 pm
Posts: 11
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Postby Fatboyfun » Thu Aug 02, 2012 5:52 am

I don't imagine you'll be limited to four digit postcodes, that was over five years ago, unlocking the device will NOT add anything to the original programme, it will however allow you to run other programmes, such as igo primo, which is much better than the original programme
Fatboyfun offline


User avatar Ex Moderator



 
Joined: Mon May 17, 2010 5:34 pm
Posts: 6359
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 380 times

Postby PJ03029174 » Thu Aug 02, 2012 11:48 am

Thanks for the quick response, il look into Igo Primo :)
PJ03029174 offline


Junior Member



 
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 9:37 pm
Posts: 11
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Postby Fatboyfun » Thu Aug 02, 2012 11:56 am

Fatboyfun offline


User avatar Ex Moderator



 
Joined: Mon May 17, 2010 5:34 pm
Posts: 6359
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 380 times

Postby chas521 » Thu Aug 02, 2012 12:16 pm

My 2 cents here. Primo kinda depends upon where you live. All versions work everywhere pretty well except that version 1.1 works in NA better. 1.0, 1.2 and 2.0 not so good in NA. This has been verified by others in NA as well - not only me.
If it ain't broke don't fix it!
ALWAYS BACK-UP YOUR FILES/FOLDERS BEFORE MAKING EDITING CHANGES!

Please do NOT post any thanks. Simply press the hand icon with the "thumb up" which is the thank you button.
chas521 offline


User avatar Ex Moderator



 
Joined: Sat May 15, 2010 8:50 pm
Posts: 5339
Location: Long Island, NY
Has thanked: 60 times
Been thanked: 1131 times

Postby PJ03029174 » Thu Aug 02, 2012 1:42 pm

I'm based in the Uk, im at work at the moment (have just read the Primo manual) and plan to install it tonight. Can't do too much searching at the mo, does anybody know if the UK is well covered by Primo?
Thanks again for all the help mods
PJ03029174 offline


Junior Member



 
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 9:37 pm
Posts: 11
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Postby chas521 » Thu Aug 02, 2012 1:46 pm

Primo 2.0 is fine in the UK with Navitotal maps/content.
If it ain't broke don't fix it!
ALWAYS BACK-UP YOUR FILES/FOLDERS BEFORE MAKING EDITING CHANGES!

Please do NOT post any thanks. Simply press the hand icon with the "thumb up" which is the thank you button.
chas521 offline


User avatar Ex Moderator



 
Joined: Sat May 15, 2010 8:50 pm
Posts: 5339
Location: Long Island, NY
Has thanked: 60 times
Been thanked: 1131 times


Return to Mio Device Unlock

 


  • Related topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest