Facebook Twitter RSS Feed      

Updating my TomTom to the latest maps with full control over   

Updating my TomTom to the latest maps with full control over

Postby worldsdream » Thu Mar 03, 2011 7:07 pm

Hi,

i thought i open a thread. so i keep all the things over here.

I have the TomTom ONE 2nd Edition with 2GB MMC. the latest navcore with tomtom home is 7.9.x.

I installed navcore 8.412.1236: (suggest by moderator tendrive)
http://www.navitotal.com/forums/noref.php?url=http://www.easy-share.com/1912202781/SE_Navcore.8.412.1236_32mb_devices.rar
but now i dont hear voices. its ON by settings.

What i really want and i hope you people can help me out is:
- having the latest Western maps. Dont know which one to choose. i see 4 Western maps?!
- Can i use Jukebox on my TomTom? (with navcore 8.412 i saw the option available and i could play the mp3. but i didnt hear anything, like i even didnt hear voice sound, so maybe it will work after i get sound working?)
- Can i use search for full postcodes? Because if i search now for a postcode, i cant! i only can fill in 3 postcode characters. and in UK you will have 6 characters.

much thanks!
worldsdream offline


Junior Member



 
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2010 4:03 pm
Posts: 26
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Postby tendriver » Fri Mar 04, 2011 4:31 am

worldsdream wrote:Hi,

i thought i open a thread. so i keep all the things over here.

I have the TomTom ONE 2nd Edition with 2GB MMC. the latest navcore with tomtom home is 7.9.x.

1.I installed navcore 8.412.1236: (suggest by moderator tendrive)
http://www.navitotal.com/forums/noref.php?url=http://www.easy-share.com/1912202781/SE_Navcore.8.412.1236_32mb_devices.rar
but now i dont hear voices. its ON by settings.

What i really want and i hope you people can help me out is:
2. - having the latest Western maps. Dont know which one to choose. i see 4 Western maps?!
3. - Can i use Jukebox on my TomTom? (with navcore 8.412 i saw the option available and i could play the mp3. but i didnt hear anything, like i even didnt hear voice sound, so maybe it will work after i get sound working?)
4. - Can i use search for full postcodes? Because if i search now for a postcode, i cant! i only can fill in 3 postcode characters. and in UK you will have 6 characters.

much thanks!


1. Did you do a clean install or an overwrite install? What voices are you using?
2. Western_Europe_865_3245 [1979.3MB]
3. You can try to
4. LATEST POSTCODES Version 865 (GREAT BRITAIN, NEDERLAND & SINGAPORE) Postcode v865
Extract and copy the "Zip" folder to the root of your TomTom.
tendriver offline


User avatar Ex Super Mod



 
Joined: Thu May 20, 2010 4:43 pm
Posts: 12978
Has thanked: 339 times
Been thanked: 614 times

Postby worldsdream » Fri Mar 04, 2011 10:47 am

i overwrited my files. with that exe file. so it wasnt a clean install. do you want me to clean out the SD card and then install the navcore exe first? i am using the standard voices of tomtom what i had. do i need to have other voice files for other navcores or for other maps?

i am downloading the maps Western Europe 865 3245 and the postcode zip!

please let me know about the voices. thanks!!
worldsdream offline


Junior Member



 
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2010 4:03 pm
Posts: 26
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Postby tendriver » Fri Mar 04, 2011 1:44 pm

worldsdream wrote:i overwrited my files. with that exe file. so it wasnt a clean install.
1. do you want me to clean out the SD card and then install the navcore exe first?
2. i am using the standard voices of tomtom what i had. do i need to have other voice files for other navcores or for other maps?

i am downloading the maps Western Europe 865 3245 and the postcode zip!

please let me know about the voices. thanks!!


1. No
2. Please be more specific.
tendriver offline


User avatar Ex Super Mod



 
Joined: Thu May 20, 2010 4:43 pm
Posts: 12978
Has thanked: 339 times
Been thanked: 614 times

Postby worldsdream » Fri Mar 04, 2011 1:55 pm

tendriver wrote:1. No
2. Please be more specific.


there is a map "voices" in tomtom home directory. one file called voice.dat and the others are data05.chk and .vif / data16.chk and .vif and many more.
or can you tell me what i need to search for you. so you know which voices i am using.. thanks!

update: when i go to manage my device in tomtom home software. i see the installed files on my navigation are: voices--> Bernard / Bram / Eva and written, this is the standard tomtom navigation-system.
worldsdream offline


Junior Member



 
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2010 4:03 pm
Posts: 26
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Postby tendriver » Fri Mar 04, 2011 5:28 pm

Check these settings.

Main Menu, Change preferences:
1. You have a RED icon titled "Turn off Voice guidance"
2. Voices: Voice preferences is set correctly. You see a GREEN icon titled "Disable voice".
3. Volume preferences is set correctly.
4 You see another RED icon titled "Turn off sound".
5. Speaker preferences is set to "Internal Speaker".
tendriver offline


User avatar Ex Super Mod



 
Joined: Thu May 20, 2010 4:43 pm
Posts: 12978
Has thanked: 339 times
Been thanked: 614 times

Postby worldsdream » Fri Mar 04, 2011 6:35 pm

thanks for the guidelines!!
the sound is working now. i had the volume of the jukebox on "Internal Speaker". i putted it as default what it was "Line out" and then i rebooted the tomtom and voice is working.
i cant get jukebox working on my TomTom One 2nd edition. i had put a song on it and i see the song in my tomtom device. it tells the song is playing. but i cant hear it. maybe someone @ the forum can make a trick to let people play song on the most tomtom devices.
i am still downloading the maps. takes ages if you dont have a filefactory account. i willl tell when i finish and everything is working.
worldsdream offline


Junior Member



 
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2010 4:03 pm
Posts: 26
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Postby tendriver » Fri Mar 04, 2011 7:16 pm

worldsdream wrote:i cant get jukebox working on my TomTom One 2nd edition.



Confirm you have a mp3d and a mplayer file in your "bin" folder, & you put the mp3s in the "mp3" folder.
tendriver offline


User avatar Ex Super Mod



 
Joined: Thu May 20, 2010 4:43 pm
Posts: 12978
Has thanked: 339 times
Been thanked: 614 times

Postby worldsdream » Sat Mar 05, 2011 3:01 pm

i have an mp3d in "bin" folder. but i dont have a mplayer file in it? and yes. i have 2 songs in the "mp3" folder. what to do? you can share me that file or..
i see the songs and i can select them in the jukebox. only the problem is. i dont hear the song.

after selecting the song to play. i click pause or i go back. and the sound voices is not anymore working in tomtom. to fix it. i need to shutdown my tomtom and boot it up. then the sound will work for the voices.

photogallery and documentreader are both working in the "music and media settings". only the tomtom jukebox isnt working over there. maybe you know why. i hope!
worldsdream offline


Junior Member



 
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2010 4:03 pm
Posts: 26
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 0 time


Return to General Discussions about TomTom

 


  • Related topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests