Facebook Twitter RSS Feed      

TomTom Android 1.3 + Maps 925   

Re: TomTom Android 1.3 + Maps 925

Postby Russ » Sun Mar 30, 2014 7:30 am

paulocarv wrote:samsung galaxy s4 with the kit kat 4.4.2 tomtom europe does not work. the message after the installation that can not connect to tomtom appears. I did so in andoid 4.2 and it worked perfectly. someone help me?


Try putting the all files onto phone memory instead of memory card.
Russ offline


Junior Member



 
Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2010 9:26 pm
Posts: 21
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: TomTom Android 1.3 + Maps 925

Postby scottytaz » Sun Mar 30, 2014 4:09 pm

thanks will try it on my lg g2 when i get it
scottytaz offline


Junior Member



 
Joined: Sun Jan 16, 2011 6:50 am
Posts: 17
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: TomTom Android 1.3 + Maps 925

Postby scottytaz » Sun Mar 30, 2014 7:23 pm

hi can anyone tell me how to disconnect my phone from all internet as surely 3g is internet aswell bit confused :017:
scottytaz offline


Junior Member



 
Joined: Sun Jan 16, 2011 6:50 am
Posts: 17
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: TomTom Android 1.3 + Maps 925

Postby Russ » Sun Mar 30, 2014 7:40 pm

scottytaz wrote:hi can anyone tell me how to disconnect my phone from all internet as surely 3g is internet aswell bit confused :017:


Didn't need to turn of internet on my S4 when I installed the UK & RoI map.

Go to settings - turn off wifi & also turn off mobile data.
Russ offline


Junior Member



 
Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2010 9:26 pm
Posts: 21
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: TomTom Android 1.3 + Maps 925

Postby scottytaz » Sun Mar 30, 2014 8:35 pm

Russ wrote:
scottytaz wrote:hi can anyone tell me how to disconnect my phone from all internet as surely 3g is internet aswell bit confused :017:


Didn't need to turn of internet on my S4 when I installed the UK & RoI map.

Go to settings - turn off wifi & also turn off mobile data.


thanks russ already sorted and up and running do you know if these can be updated or is it from here only :023:
scottytaz offline


Junior Member



 
Joined: Sun Jan 16, 2011 6:50 am
Posts: 17
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: TomTom Android 1.3 + Maps 925

Postby paulocarv » Mon Mar 31, 2014 8:24 am

Russ wrote:Try putting the all files onto phone memory instead of memory card.


put the maps in the memory of the smartphone and so works well.
wanted to put the maps on the card for up space in your smartphone.
Thank you.
paulocarv offline


Junior Member



 
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2010 10:37 am
Posts: 17
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: TomTom Android 1.3 + Maps 925

Postby paulocarv » Tue Apr 01, 2014 8:27 am

paulocarv wrote:
Russ wrote:Try putting the all files onto phone memory instead of memory card.


put the maps in the memory of the smartphone and so works well.
wanted to put the maps on the card for up space in your smartphone.
Thank you.


there is some way of working by putting the maps on the card in android 4.4.2 kitkat?.
did not want the maps in memory of the smartphone.
paulocarv offline


Junior Member



 
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2010 10:37 am
Posts: 17
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: TomTom Android 1.3 + Maps 925

Postby peerke_poep » Wed Apr 02, 2014 6:06 am

Hi,

Well THAT's a story. Although many phones are android, there seems to be some differences in the
structure of the directory. E.G. with MY phone;
Directories 'my android' (from root /). You can use ES FileExplorer to see;

/mnt/sdcard (This is MY external SDcard)
/mnt/sdcard2 (This is internal memory part, only called sdcard2)

/sdcard (This is ALSO my external SDcard)

/Storage/sdcard0 (This is ALSO my external SDcard)
/Storage/sdcard1 (This is internal memory part, only called sdcard1 overhere)

So thought TT realy needs 'name' /mnt/sdcard.

By coincidence I know for example that the Huawei P6 has swapped SDCARD1 and SDCARD0.
Maybe after rooting your phone, you can change names ?

Good luck !

paulocarv wrote:
paulocarv wrote:
Russ wrote:Try putting the <SPAN><SPAN>a</SPAN>ll files</SPAN> onto phone memory instead of memory card.


put the maps in the memory of the smartphone and so works well.
wanted to put the maps on the card for up space in your smartphone.
Thank you.


there is some way of working by putting the maps on the card in android 4.4.2 kitkat?.
did not want the maps <SPAN><SPAN>i</SPAN>n memory of</SPAN> the smartphone.
peerke_poep offline


Junior Member



 
Joined: Thu Feb 27, 2014 10:27 am
Posts: 20
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: TomTom Android 1.3 + Maps 925

Postby Baudwalker » Thu Apr 03, 2014 5:55 pm

I have the same problem.
I haven't tried to resolve it yet but KITKAT seems to be the Elephant in the Room.
Worked flawlessly on 4.3 but no doubt a different meta or the like will be needed

I would also be interested in any solution to this problem

and look out ... 4.4.3 is already leaked from Samsung so it will be doing the rounds soon!
Baudwalker offline


Junior Member



 
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2012 10:38 pm
Posts: 5
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: TomTom Android 1.3 + Maps 925

Postby xxsparksxx » Thu Apr 03, 2014 10:11 pm

just keep getting unable to connect to tomtom on my note 3 with latest android?
any ideas?
xxsparksxx offline


Junior Member



 
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2014 1:19 pm
Posts: 1
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: TomTom Android 1.3 + Maps 925

Postby scottytaz » Fri Apr 04, 2014 5:48 am

GB and Ireland works great on my LG g2 running android 4.2
scottytaz offline


Junior Member



 
Joined: Sun Jan 16, 2011 6:50 am
Posts: 17
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: TomTom Android 1.3 + Maps 925

Postby peerke_poep » Mon Apr 07, 2014 9:34 am

As told by Russ;
wrote:
First Try putting the all files onto phone memory instead of memory card

xxsparksxx wrote:Russ wrote:
Try putting the all files onto phone memory instead of memory card
peerke_poep offline


Junior Member



 
Joined: Thu Feb 27, 2014 10:27 am
Posts: 20
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: TomTom Android 1.3 + Maps 925

Postby Baudwalker » Mon Apr 07, 2014 10:14 am

I tried this .. uninstalled the app ... installed it on the phone memory
Copied the data files across and still the "Cannot connect to Tomtom" error

Next effort is to try to use a utility to 'move' the app from the SD Card for the Phone and see if this doesn't change the settings to suit
Baudwalker offline


Junior Member



 
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2012 10:38 pm
Posts: 5
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: TomTom Android 1.3 + Maps 925

Postby ne9218 » Mon Apr 14, 2014 5:31 pm

Open the file .metadata.xml file in Notepad and replace size numbers with 0
ne9218 offline


Junior Member



 
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 12:14 pm
Posts: 1
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: TomTom Android 1.3 + Maps 925

Postby nixmit » Tue Apr 15, 2014 12:08 pm

Baudwalker wrote:I have the same problem.
I haven't tried to resolve it yet but KITKAT seems to be the Elephant in the Room.

A new version of TomTom has appeared 4 days ago: 1.3.2
This version solves all problems with Kitkat and storage on SD cards.

Tomtom even installed the map on SD0 (intern) whereas the original was on SD1 (SD card).
I moved 'com.tomtom.benelux' to the SD card, and all is working well now.

Anyone wants to keep recent destinations? Go - on a rooted device - to /data/data/com.tomtom.benelux/shared_prefs and rename the old country_xxxxxxxx.xml to the new *.xml.
nixmit offline


Junior Member



 
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 8:42 am
Posts: 20
Location: Groningen, Netherlands
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 3 times
Age: 71

PreviousNext

Return to Android Apps

 


  • Related topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests