Facebook Twitter RSS Feed      

Issue with hotmail

We have an issue with hotmail, outlook or live emails, please update your email address to Gmail or something like or you will be not able to receive notifications...
Thank you for your understanding.
:023:

How to use maps >2GB on devices without SD slot/limited int   

How to use maps >2GB on devices without SD slot/limited int

Post Number:#1 » Postby Downunder35m » Sat Mar 31, 2012 9:00 am

I created a tutorial with some info, but since no one actually checks the tutorials and I'd like to avoid hundreds of new threads for this problem and link it here : :link:
If your models supports it you will be able to use big maps llike the Truck or the full EU/America maps on your old TT.
So far it was tested on ONE V4, V8 and XL.

Again: don't blame me if it does not work or you deep fry your TT!
Forum rules

[Please Register or Login to download file]

If you find broken links or missing attachments in my postings, please send me PM
Password for all my files: downunder
Downunder35m offline


User avatar Moderator



 
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 4:44 am
Posts: 4627
Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 447 times

Post Number:#2 » Postby expertGPS » Thu May 10, 2012 10:55 am

Hi
it is possible to change TOMTOM XL IQ 2GB adding (soldering) to SD card Slot..?
4172:scratch_one-s_head_
expertGPS offline


Junior Member



 
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 10:30 am
Posts: 5
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Post Number:#3 » Postby Downunder35m » Thu May 10, 2012 11:35 am

Why do you ask, did you not check the tutorial?
Just compare the the layout on your circuit board with the one in the tut - if it is a match I would say it works.
Forum rules

[Please Register or Login to download file]

If you find broken links or missing attachments in my postings, please send me PM
Password for all my files: downunder
Downunder35m offline


User avatar Moderator



 
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 4:44 am
Posts: 4627
Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 447 times

Post Number:#4 » Postby expertGPS » Thu May 10, 2012 11:47 am

problem is.. my motherboard no have point P8 and P7 its the same place
4173 :unknw_mini:
expertGPS offline


Junior Member



 
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 10:30 am
Posts: 5
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Post Number:#5 » Postby Downunder35m » Thu May 10, 2012 12:36 pm

If I compare both pictures than all solder points are at the same positions, except VDD which I can't see, but for that you have to check the other picture or locate a point with 3.3V.
Maybe you should turn your pic 180° for a better comparison.
Forum rules

[Please Register or Login to download file]

If you find broken links or missing attachments in my postings, please send me PM
Password for all my files: downunder
Downunder35m offline


User avatar Moderator



 
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 4:44 am
Posts: 4627
Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 447 times

Post Number:#6 » Postby expertGPS » Thu May 10, 2012 1:04 pm

Image rotacion, the position P7 and P8 not found
4176

VDD OK
expertGPS offline


Junior Member



 
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 10:30 am
Posts: 5
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Post Number:#7 » Postby Downunder35m » Thu May 10, 2012 1:25 pm

I don't get it, the layout is identical.
Can you explain what you can't find if all solder points are identical?
P7 and P8 are in the exact same position!
Forum rules

[Please Register or Login to download file]

If you find broken links or missing attachments in my postings, please send me PM
Password for all my files: downunder
Downunder35m offline


User avatar Moderator



 
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 4:44 am
Posts: 4627
Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 447 times

Post Number:#8 » Postby expertGPS » Fri May 11, 2012 12:30 pm

this positions no solder.
41814182
expertGPS offline


Junior Member



 
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 10:30 am
Posts: 5
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Post Number:#9 » Postby Downunder35m » Fri May 11, 2012 1:02 pm

LOL, now I'm with you...
You missed the fac that the point P7 is CMD and as you can see in the pic there is a solder point used within this "fake SD connector" next to the black chip.
Same for P8, Data3.
To my knowledge the points you don't have are only mentioned in the pic for devices without the fake SD connector on the circuit board as they are so far the only ones that could be found without destroying a device.
So to be perfectly clear: P7 is the first solder point from the left in the pic (tut) , P8 is the second one in the row below - just check the pic and forget about the label P7/8, go with the signal name ;)
You could scratch the paint of the hidden points and use them, but why bother if they are available "ready to go" ? ;)

Hope all is clear this time :)
Forum rules

[Please Register or Login to download file]

If you find broken links or missing attachments in my postings, please send me PM
Password for all my files: downunder
Downunder35m offline


User avatar Moderator



 
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 4:44 am
Posts: 4627
Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 447 times

Post Number:#10 » Postby expertGPS » Fri May 11, 2012 1:21 pm

if it possibly can to show in my picture (edit my picture )?? which points P7 and P8 are correct...Thanks
expertGPS offline


Junior Member



 
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 10:30 am
Posts: 5
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Post Number:#11 » Postby Downunder35m » Fri May 11, 2012 2:15 pm

They are labeld in the pic of the tut.
So you already got the pointer for the right ones.
Forum rules

[Please Register or Login to download file]

If you find broken links or missing attachments in my postings, please send me PM
Password for all my files: downunder
Downunder35m offline


User avatar Moderator



 
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 4:44 am
Posts: 4627
Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 447 times

Post Number:#12 » Postby rs2580 » Mon May 14, 2012 2:18 pm

I soldered adapter to points... but how can it be possible, that i can see files, but i can not delete or write files? (via TT device)
rs2580 offline


Junior Member



 
Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2011 3:03 pm
Posts: 13
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Post Number:#13 » Postby Downunder35m » Mon May 14, 2012 2:24 pm

Write protect enabled? That little "switch" on the side of the SD.
Forum rules

[Please Register or Login to download file]

If you find broken links or missing attachments in my postings, please send me PM
Password for all my files: downunder
Downunder35m offline


User avatar Moderator



 
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 4:44 am
Posts: 4627
Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 447 times

Post Number:#14 » Postby rs2580 » Mon May 14, 2012 2:37 pm

I know about that but it's not locked. Maybe warm from solder iron damaged switch.
rs2580 offline


Junior Member



 
Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2011 3:03 pm
Posts: 13
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Post Number:#15 » Postby Downunder35m » Mon May 14, 2012 3:09 pm

Not sure, but if you used a too high temp quite possible.
I prefer to use MicroSD cards and an adapter.
Even if the adapter gets a bit hot, there are no electronics to damage.
Forum rules

[Please Register or Login to download file]

If you find broken links or missing attachments in my postings, please send me PM
Password for all my files: downunder
Downunder35m offline


User avatar Moderator



 
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 4:44 am
Posts: 4627
Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 447 times

Next

Return to Tutorials

 


  • Related topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: mcgsm and 1 guest