Facebook Twitter RSS Feed      

Happy New Year 2017!!!

NaviTotal.com wish
to all Users a
Happy New Year 2017 !

We have an issue with hotmail, outlook or live emails, please update your email address to Gmail or something like or you will be not able to receive notifications...
Thank you for your understanding.
:023:

Guide to Binatone devices   

Post Number:#46 » Postby italianomale » Sat Apr 14, 2012 1:04 pm

Yes.thanks for your post. I understand the differences between SD, SDHC, MicroSD and MicroSDHC.

My original point was that Binatone gave me the wrong information, stating that I would be able to use MicroSDHC, as long, as I didn't go above 16GB. This clearly is not the case contrary to conflicting information I have read on various sites.
italianomale offline


Member



 
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2012 1:19 pm
Posts: 107
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Post Number:#47 » Postby Fatboyfun » Sat Apr 14, 2012 1:45 pm

Binatone's are just rebranded Mobile Navigator type devices with cheap and nasty GPS software, Sold in other regions under different names such as Voxtel, I doubt Binatone really know what the specifications of the devices are, only that this particular hardware works with this particular software and is just about fit for purpose, Any modifications go over their heads.
Currently sleeping...
Fatboyfun offline


User avatar Ex Moderator



 
Joined: Mon May 17, 2010 5:34 pm
Posts: 6367
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 328 times

Post Number:#48 » Postby italianomale » Sat Apr 14, 2012 3:23 pm

Thanks for your superior knowledge FBF.

Yes, your correct about Binatone they didn't have a clue.

What I have read the F350 is OK for the price (I got it brand new for £28 for a friend) but software is useless, hence, why I arrived at your site, hoping to install Primo2 for her.
italianomale offline


Member



 
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2012 1:19 pm
Posts: 107
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Post Number:#49 » Postby Fatboyfun » Sat Apr 14, 2012 10:42 pm

The hardware is good (the earlier a and b series can be slow) it's the software that let's it down badly, once you get either tomtom or igo primo loaded it becomes immeasurably better.
Fatboyfun offline


User avatar Ex Moderator



 
Joined: Mon May 17, 2010 5:34 pm
Posts: 6367
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 328 times

Post Number:#50 » Postby italianomale » Sun Apr 15, 2012 8:55 am

Yes, that's how I read it. The model was good for the price just need to change software to improve it immensely. From my research I came to conclusion that Primo 2 is the best software?
italianomale offline


Member



 
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2012 1:19 pm
Posts: 107
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Post Number:#51 » Postby Fatboyfun » Sun Apr 15, 2012 9:36 am

If it's wince 5 then you can install tomtom and any variant of igo including primo 2, if it's wince 6 then tomtom doesn't work but igo does, primo 2 is the preferred choice for most users
Fatboyfun offline


User avatar Ex Moderator



 
Joined: Mon May 17, 2010 5:34 pm
Posts: 6367
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 328 times

Post Number:#52 » Postby italianomale » Sun Apr 15, 2012 10:11 am

Yes it's wince 6. I think I have all the necessary software and files to put on the card once it arrives. You said to come back to you for the next stage, once I get the card?

I have the Primo 2 software, maps for The UK ROI and Italy. I have renamed the 2 folders and created the shell.ini.

Have I completed everything necessary, ready for the card?

Thank you FBF.
italianomale offline


Member



 
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2012 1:19 pm
Posts: 107
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Post Number:#53 » Postby italianomale » Mon Apr 16, 2012 9:30 am

Good morning FBF.

Please may I ask some advice?

I have yet another friend that has asked me to update their tomtom one, first edition. Would you recommend that I upgrade the navcore and software to 7 or 8? I have had a quick look to try and discover which operating system the tomtom one, first edition uses, as I was wondering whether I would be able to use the same software that I am going to put onto the Binatone? She has asked if it would be possible to put Primo 2 on a card and run it on the tom-tom?

I am just doing some research about the tomtom as I can't go any further with the Binatone I am awaiting the card and a reader.

Also, did you receive my last reply about the Binatone?
italianomale offline


Member



 
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2012 1:19 pm
Posts: 107
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Post Number:#54 » Postby Fatboyfun » Mon Apr 16, 2012 9:44 am

Tomtom's are LINUX based so can only run tomtom software, however they can be updated, have a look at the tutorials in the tomtom section for more info.

I don't know what you mean by two folders but everything else is ok
Fatboyfun offline


User avatar Ex Moderator



 
Joined: Mon May 17, 2010 5:34 pm
Posts: 6367
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 328 times

Post Number:#55 » Postby italianomale » Mon Apr 16, 2012 10:29 am

Thank you. I didn't think it was Windows-based so was unsure to whether I could use other software.

I have had a quick look, do you think patching tomtom home would be the quickest method?

Fatboyfun wrote:I don't know what you mean by two folders but everything else is ok


Sorry, I meant I have renamed the directory to MobileNavigator and the application itself to MobileNavigator.exe
italianomale offline


Member



 
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2012 1:19 pm
Posts: 107
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Post Number:#56 » Postby Fatboyfun » Mon Apr 16, 2012 10:43 am

Have a search through the tomtom section, you don't need to patch tomtom home.

Sounds like you are ready to install igo now...
Fatboyfun offline


User avatar Ex Moderator



 
Joined: Mon May 17, 2010 5:34 pm
Posts: 6367
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 328 times

Post Number:#57 » Postby italianomale » Mon Apr 16, 2012 11:34 am

OK thanks. Sorry, its just I read patching tomtom home with fast activate was the quickest method to update. will have a more in-depth search of the tomtom section.

Thanks for all your advice, very much appreciated.
italianomale offline


Member



 
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2012 1:19 pm
Posts: 107
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Post Number:#58 » Postby RobG » Wed Apr 25, 2012 3:26 pm

Hi Fatboyfun :helpsos:,
Thanks for making this excellent post. I have lost the origonal SD card from my Binatone G500 (WinCE5). I note you mentioned you had some ROM Images "I now have some ROM images, but not for every device!".
Do you have one for my model, if so can it be zipped and e-mailed / attached / posted?
Thanks in advance
RobG :)
RobG offline


Junior Member



 
Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2012 2:55 pm
Posts: 10
Location: Somerset
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Post Number:#59 » Postby Fatboyfun » Wed Apr 25, 2012 3:52 pm

Are you referring to the ROM or original software?
Fatboyfun offline


User avatar Ex Moderator



 
Joined: Mon May 17, 2010 5:34 pm
Posts: 6367
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 328 times

Post Number:#60 » Postby RobG » Wed Apr 25, 2012 4:14 pm

I have lost the SD card and so was hoping to get a copy of the contents from someone and re-create a new SD card.
Rob
RobG offline


Junior Member



 
Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2012 2:55 pm
Posts: 10
Location: Somerset
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

PreviousNext

Return to Tools & Tutorials

 


  • Related topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests