Facebook Twitter RSS Feed      

Issue with @hotmail address

We have an issue with hotmail, outlook or live emails, please update your email address to Gmail or something like or you will be not able to receive notifications...
Thank you for your understanding.
:023:

Cannot Use this map: Western Europe_1GB - TomTom ONE XL   

Cannot Use this map: Western Europe_1GB - TomTom ONE XL

Post Number:#1 » Postby treesmoker » Wed Dec 28, 2011 10:24 pm

UPDATE: WHAT MAKES THIS WORSE IS I'VE JUST FOUND THIS WONDERFULL FORUM AND THE FastActivate.exe PROGRAM!

Hey Guys,

I have a Tomtom ONE XL (my dads) that I was putting some voices on for him today and everything was going good, then I tried to get Homer Simpson voice for the device, but the comments said I needed to use tt8_keygen.exe to get the correct .dct file, anyway ended up using easy use tool and now when the device turns on I get no maps found, so I updated everything using TomTom HOME app but now I just get Cannot Use This Map On This Device: Western_Europe_1GB.

The device is running from internal memory not an SD Card. And I cannot get onto the main menu at all because of this error, from opening the Western_Europe_1GB.pna file with notepad I get:

ID=Western_Europe_1GB.pna
440040529
710
build=1561
id=106028

I Know my Device ID if that helps, but other than that I don't have any idea how to fix this problem.

POSSIBLE CAUSES: 1) when I used the Easy Use Tool that asked me for the device drive letter then patched a load of files - at this point i got a "NO MAPS FOUND" error

Could I just download the latest maps available and copy to map directory then use fastactivate.exe? would that not in a way work?

weird thing is that TT Home app says that the maps is correctly installed on the device.....


PLEASE HELP GUYS!
treesmoker offline


Junior Member



 
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 8:09 pm
Posts: 19
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Post Number:#2 » Postby tendriver » Thu Dec 29, 2011 12:51 am

treesmoker wrote:1. I have a Tomtom ONE XL (my dads) that I was putting some voices on for him today and everything was going good, then I tried to get Homer Simpson voice for the device, but the comments said I needed to use tt8_keygen.exe to get the correct .dct file, anyway ended up using easy use tool and now when the device turns on I get no maps found, so I updated everything using TomTom HOME app but now I just get Cannot Use This Map On This Device: Western_Europe_1GB.

The device is running from internal memory not an SD Card. And I cannot get onto the main menu at all because of this error, from opening the Western_Europe_1GB.pna file with notepad I get:

ID=Western_Europe_1GB.pna
440040529
710
build=1561
id=106028

2. I Know my Device ID if that helps, but other than that I don't have any idea how to fix this problem.

POSSIBLE CAUSES: 1) when I used the Easy Use Tool that asked me for the device drive letter then patched a load of files - at this point i got a "NO MAPS FOUND" error
2) when TomTom HOME app update to the latest One XL Application - Now TT Home app gives an error regarding the wrong XL app installed to the device, and since gives the "Cannot Use This Map On This Device: Western_Europe_1GB."


I am currently copying the internal memory contents onto my C:\ drive so cannot check exactly what the TT Home error says, I will edit this post as soon as its finished.


1. Easyusetool is an antiquated dinosaur. "No maps found' indicates that the navcore is not patched. "Cannot Use This Map On This Device" indicates that the map is not patched.
2. A little patch work is needed.

PC 1. This is caused by the patching issue.
PC 2. Same as PC 1.

Go here: FastActivate 24.11.2011 {1.8.8.0} Read the instructions, then select the Premium version. Run the program by clicking all 4 buttons, 1 at a time, from left to right.Disconnect & reboot.
tendriver offline


User avatar Ex Super Mod



 
Joined: Thu May 20, 2010 4:43 pm
Posts: 12980
Has thanked: 339 times
Been thanked: 608 times

Post Number:#3 » Postby treesmoker » Thu Dec 29, 2011 1:55 am

Wow, here I was really panicing that i could have killed my dads TT and may have to shell out £48.99 for a new map update just to fix issue, and you come online and make it sound like the simplest childs play possible.... So simple that it actually made me laugh at myself for panicing so much.

Okay so just running fast activate from the root of the internal memory would fix the device back to how it was, thankyou for this information tendriver.

1) Are there any new maps for TT One XL 1GB Western Europe? And if so can you point me to the correct place, and also the right navcore? I need one which includes france really as my parents have a holiday home there....

2) regarding voices, speed camera updates, points of interest, fuel stops, atm' and shopping ect are they the same procedure? Copy over to root and run FastActivate?

3) I cannot thank you enough, everybody on this site seems to worship you for all of your direct and knowegable answers, now i know why....THANK YOU SO MUCH!

UPDATE: Okay so i've copied FastActivate.exe to root, launched, Clicked/Patched one by one from left to right, Safey diconnected device........BRAVO! works like a charm....AND all the voices included Homer Simpson! WORK!!!
treesmoker offline


Junior Member



 
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 8:09 pm
Posts: 19
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Post Number:#4 » Postby tendriver » Thu Dec 29, 2011 3:04 am

treesmoker wrote:2) regarding voices, speed camera updates, points of interest, fuel stops, atm' and shopping ect are they the same procedure? Copy over to root and run FastActivate?


Celeb voices go in a voice folder. speedcams, pois, fuel etc go in your map folder.
tendriver offline


User avatar Ex Super Mod



 
Joined: Thu May 20, 2010 4:43 pm
Posts: 12980
Has thanked: 339 times
Been thanked: 608 times

Post Number:#5 » Postby treesmoker » Thu Dec 29, 2011 10:25 am

Thanks man, really appreicate the help! I'll give it a go now!
treesmoker offline


Junior Member



 
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 8:09 pm
Posts: 19
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Problem with map You cannot use this map on this device: Wes

Post Number:#6 » Postby balonie2 » Mon May 20, 2013 7:34 am

I have the same problem listed in this thread: http://www.navitotal.com/showthread.php?8449-Cannot-Use-this-map-Western-Europe_1GB-TomTom-ONE-XL

The solution was to go to the link saying FastActivate 24.11.20122 {1.8.8.0}, but when I click on the link, it just redirects me to http://www.navitotal.com/forum.php and not the thread the link is listed to send me to.

Yesterday, I wanted to put some new voices on my TomTom. I downloaded the free english ones from the tomtom site, and i connected my tomtom to my pc. It said I had to download the program TomTom HOME for it to work, so I did. Then it said it had to update a lot of stuff, so I updated it. After the update, I still couldn't install the voices on my TomTom because it gave an error in TomTom HOME. When I tried to start up my TomTom (after disconnecting it from my pc) it gave the error listed in the title of this thread:
Problem with map
You cannot use this map on this device:
Western_Europe_1GB

The only thing I can press is Continue, but when I press that it lets me select a map (Western Europe 1GB) is the only one, and when I press that the same error shows.
What do I have to do?
Thanks in advance!

by the way, I'm a real newbie in this, so explaining every step would be appreciated!
balonie2 offline


Junior Member



 
Joined: Sun May 19, 2013 3:57 pm
Posts: 14
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Post Number:#7 » Postby Downunder35m » Mon May 20, 2013 7:40 am

1. No need for a new thread
2. No informations given that we need, so please give us what we need ;)
3. Check the tutorials
4. Check the 910 map thread, follow instructions provided there and it will work
Forum rules

[Please Register or Login to download file]

If you find broken links or missing attachments in my postings, please send me PM
Password for all my files: downunder
Downunder35m offline


User avatar Elite Member



 
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 4:44 am
Posts: 4627
Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 485 times

Post Number:#8 » Postby balonie2 » Mon May 20, 2013 8:32 am

Oh sorry about that, don't really know which extra information I had to include?
And where can I find the 910 thread? And which tutorials? There are a lot..
Thanks for your time.

EDIT: I found the 910 thread! (All New Maps 910.XXXX)
Following that now and I'll tell you if it worked.

EDIT2: On the 910 thread, it mentions the 'root' of the TomTom, what do they mean with it? When I connect the TomTom to the pc, is the root the TomTom (D:), so just copy it to there, or is it a map in here? And when I go to the thread of FastActivate, it gives instructions, but there's no download link? Help please.
balonie2 offline


Junior Member



 
Joined: Sun May 19, 2013 3:57 pm
Posts: 14
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Post Number:#9 » Postby timhowarduk » Mon May 20, 2013 10:56 am

balonie2 wrote:EDIT2: On the 910 thread, it mentions the 'root' of the TomTom, what do they mean with it? When I connect the TomTom to the pc, is the root the TomTom (D, so just copy it to there, or is it a map in here? And when I go to the thread of FastActivate, it gives instructions, but there's no download link? Help please.


The root just means the top of the folder structure on the TomTom
To get the FastActivate link you have to say "Thank You" using the button below, and maybe load the page again, then the link appears. I was exactly where you were last night, and it's all becoming clearer by the minute, so hang in there!
timhowarduk offline


Junior Member



 
Joined: Sat May 18, 2013 11:12 am
Posts: 11
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Post Number:#10 » Postby balonie2 » Mon May 20, 2013 11:13 am

timhowarduk wrote:The root just means the top of the folder structure on the TomTom
To get the FastActivate link you have to say "Thank You" using the button below, and maybe load the page again, then the link appears. I was exactly where you were last night, and it's all becoming clearer by the minute, so hang in there!


Thanks that helped. I got the download link and now I downloaded FastActivate.
Do you know what I have to do now? Because I have a map already in the TomTom, but after the update it gave that error. Do I have to download a new map from the 910 thread and install it? Or can I somehow recover the map I already had?
balonie2 offline


Junior Member



 
Joined: Sun May 19, 2013 3:57 pm
Posts: 14
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Post Number:#11 » Postby Razorblatter » Mon May 20, 2013 12:04 pm

If your 910 map is already on your TT, for instance d:\Europe_xxx than you can just fire up FastActivate provided your map has got a meta code.

Use option 2 to activate the map and option 3 to patch the Navcore.

Then, after restarting, you should be home free.
Razorblatter offline


User avatar Elite Member



 
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 5:52 pm
Posts: 961
Has thanked: 239 times
Been thanked: 264 times

Post Number:#12 » Postby Downunder35m » Mon May 20, 2013 12:27 pm

The problem is not that there are no enough instructions,
the problem starts if one does want to read them and use common sense.
If the provided instructions are followed it is a matter of a few minutes.
All problems I see here are based on a user needing some spoon feeding and still manage to choke on it ;)
Forum rules

[Please Register or Login to download file]

If you find broken links or missing attachments in my postings, please send me PM
Password for all my files: downunder
Downunder35m offline


User avatar Elite Member



 
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 4:44 am
Posts: 4627
Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 485 times

Post Number:#13 » Postby balonie2 » Mon May 20, 2013 1:25 pm

I'm sorry if I ask too much.
The map that was already on the TT was Western_Europe_1GB_850_2783
So it's not a 910 map, but probably older.
In FastActivate, I did option 1 to 4, restarted the TT but it still gives me the same error.
I suppose the only solution is to delete the map that's already in it and download and install a new 910 map?

EDIT: When I use option 2 on FastActivate, it does say this:
Complet Map(s):
Western_Europe_1GB-163.meta => .dct ok

So no error or something? But it's still not working.
balonie2 offline


Junior Member



 
Joined: Sun May 19, 2013 3:57 pm
Posts: 14
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Post Number:#14 » Postby Downunder35m » Mon May 20, 2013 1:33 pm

It is always the same procedure:
Install Navcore,
install map,
run FastActivate,
done.
For that to work:
the map must be usable with the NC version,
the meta code for map must be known - either in the included meta.txt or by creating one yourself,
the NC must be patched as well as the map activated.

Other option is to use a SE Navcore, one of my Navcores or an already patched Navcore,
activating the map is the same.


If in doubt:
A clean install on an empty device can solve many problems.... (after a backup of course...)
Forum rules

[Please Register or Login to download file]

If you find broken links or missing attachments in my postings, please send me PM
Password for all my files: downunder
Downunder35m offline


User avatar Elite Member



 
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 4:44 am
Posts: 4627
Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 485 times

Post Number:#15 » Postby balonie2 » Mon May 20, 2013 1:37 pm

So I have to install a Navcore first?
Because when I first clicked on option 3 in FastActivate, it said:
Your Navcore has been Patched already.

So I thought it would be okay (I hadn't done anything with a Navcore).

EDIT: Also, the map on the TT is Western_Europe, and not Europe West, but in your map thread and on the TT site, it says that map is more than 1GB, but my TT only has 1GB. I would be okay with the Europe West map (which is smaller), but at the TT site that one is not available? So I don't know if it's available for my TT (One 3rd Edition)
balonie2 offline


Junior Member



 
Joined: Sun May 19, 2013 3:57 pm
Posts: 14
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Next

Return to General Discussions about TomTom

 


  • Related topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest