Facebook Twitter RSS Feed      

Issue with hotmail

We have an issue with hotmail, outlook or live emails, please update your email address to Gmail or something like or you will be not able to receive notifications...
Thank you for your understanding.
:023:

IGO 8 couldn't find satellites   

IGO 8 couldn't find satellites

Post Number:#1 » Postby NDT70 » Mon Dec 19, 2016 5:25 pm

This is a no name unit, wince, Nav N Go IGO 8.3.4.102680, 4 GB. It worked perfectly until last week, no sure it because of hardware problem or kids played it like a toy pressed buttons entered wrong info.
Now it could be started and load up program and map, but couldn't find the satellites to locate itself. Had tried selecting auto detect in MENU-SETTING-GPS, it shows GPS drivers is successfully connected(Port 1, Baud 38400), but couldn't find satellites till run out of battery.

What else I can do?
NDT70 offline


Junior Member



 
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2016 2:24 am
Posts: 4
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: IGO 8 couldn't find satellites

Post Number:#2 » Postby filesupload100 » Mon Dec 19, 2016 7:42 pm

Try this:
Connect devide to the computer.
Navigate to the main folder (device\igo). Look for file named sys.txt.
Save copy of the file on the computer, and delete it from device.
Disconnect device from computer and turn it on. Set required basic setings and go out under clear sky to get satellites connection.
Hope it will work.
No help by PM, post your questions on the relevant forum and thread only!
I'm sorry, but please don't PM me with reupload requsts.
filesupload100 offline


User avatar Elite Member



 
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 5:38 pm
Posts: 953
Location: Israel
Has thanked: 86 times
Been thanked: 972 times
Age: 55

Re: IGO 8 couldn't find satellites

Post Number:#3 » Postby NDT70 » Tue Dec 20, 2016 4:18 am

Thank you.

Had tried to delete the sys file , didn't work.
Opened the sys file, copied the GPS info( Port 1, Baud 4800) to GPS setting, didn't work either :bs_quesexclaim: .
NDT70 offline


Junior Member



 
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2016 2:24 am
Posts: 4
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: IGO 8 couldn't find satellites

Post Number:#4 » Postby chas521 » Tue Dec 20, 2016 5:26 am

Try port=1, baud=57600
If it ain't broke don't fix it!
ALWAYS BACK-UP YOUR FILES/FOLDERS BEFORE MAKING EDITING CHANGES!

Please do NOT post any thanks. Simply press the hand with the "thumb up" which is the thank you button.
chas521 offline


User avatar Ex Moderator



 
Joined: Sat May 15, 2010 8:50 pm
Posts: 5218
Location: Long Island, NY
Has thanked: 54 times
Been thanked: 848 times

Re: IGO 8 couldn't find satellites

Post Number:#5 » Postby JmaCWQ » Tue Dec 20, 2016 6:52 am

Perhaps also try deleting or renaming the folder named 'Save' while it's connected to computer, then try it again.
Make a backup of the Save folder somewhere before you delete/rename it, just in case, any of your Pins & user added POI's & any tracks you've saved will be stored in that Save folder.

You could also try looking through the icons displayed once the device has started (before you tap the icon to start iGO8) for one that says GpsInfo, if your device has that it'll show the GPS/satellite information with number of satellites connected & signal strength etc. etc..
This will be independant of iGO8 and is a good indicator whether the device itself is able to get satellite reception, if you get no satellites connected & no signals shown on that screen the device most likely is the problem, if it does display it's getting signals ok then the problem is most likely a setting in your iGO8.
JmaCWQ offline


User avatar Junior Member



 
Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2013 9:05 am
Posts: 22
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: IGO 8 couldn't find satellites

Post Number:#6 » Postby NDT70 » Mon Dec 26, 2016 7:42 pm

I had kept watching the GPS Status for a while, it occasionally found satellite,one or two. But signal was very weak not stable, could be disappear in next minute. It looks like hardware issue, may be because of improper contact in the unit.

Thanks everybody,

Merry Christmas
NDT70 offline


Junior Member



 
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2016 2:24 am
Posts: 4
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: IGO 8 couldn't find satellites

Post Number:#7 » Postby JmaCWQ » Mon Dec 26, 2016 7:53 pm

Merry Christmas to you too.

As a last resort maybe try resetting everything?
Somewhere on the device there might be a small hole with Reset written near it, normally needs the stylus or a pin to fit in the slot properly, press & hold that in for about 15 seconds.
Also some devices can have a Reset or Factory Settings icon that when tapped will reset the device back to default.
Good luck.
JmaCWQ offline


User avatar Junior Member



 
Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2013 9:05 am
Posts: 22
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: IGO 8 couldn't find satellites

Post Number:#8 » Postby holyhead » Mon Dec 26, 2016 8:50 pm

And what happens if you delete the sys.txt post 2
and rename the folder save post 5.
Then select auto detect.

Put it in the open air. IT can take up to half an hour before you get a good signal
(3 satellites or more)
holyhead online


V.I.P Member



 
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2010 11:30 am
Posts: 930
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 138 times


Return to General Discussions about iGO core

 


  • Related topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests